To register for updates from Katherine Webb, simply fill in the form below and hit subscribe.

* indicates required

Marketing Permissions

Katherine Webb will use the information you provide on this form to keep you updated on book-related news only. Please check the box above to confirm you acknowledge this.

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at info@katherinewebbauthor.com. We will treat your information with respect. By clicking, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use MailChimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to MailChimp for processing. Learn more about MailChimp's privacy practices here.

Laying Out The Bones

Laying Out The Bones

A TERRIBLE CRIME WAITS TO BE UNEARTHED . . .

The second twisty and atmospheric Wiltshire-set crime novel in the DI Lockyer Series. Perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves and Elly Griffiths.

A long, hot summer in Wiltshire is broken by a sudden downpour. Flash floods bring something sinister to the surface – a human skeleton. When forensic testing matches the bones to a man named Lee Geary, reported missing nine years earlier, the case is passed to DI Matt Lockyer. Geary was a known criminal and drug user, so it could be a simple case of misadventure, but Lockyer isn't so sure. Geary was a townie, and had learning disabilities, so what was he doing out on the Plain all alone? Lockyer soon learns that the year he disappeared, Geary was questioned in relation to another crime – the murder of a young woman named Holly Gilbert. With the help of DC Gemma Broad, Lockyer begins to dig deeper, and discovers that two other persons of interest in the Holly Gilbert case have also either died or disappeared in the intervening years. A coincidence? Or a string of murders that has gone undetected for nearly a decade...?

Reviews for Laying Out The Bones

'Steeping yourself in a Webb novel – whether that be history or mystery – always offers so much more than an intriguing mystery. This is an accomplished author who has the gift of making each of her characters come alive through the most vivid detail and powerful insight.

These classy, elegantly written crime mysteries, starring the top team of the emotionally insecure but likeable Lockyer, and his younger, more upfront sidekick Gemma, also reveal Webb’s acute eye for the human condition, and an impressive understanding of contemporary social issues.

Evocative and haunting in its exploration of dark secrets, family bonds, lies and old truths, and with a plot and pace that never flags, Laying Out the Bones is an impressive addition to what is proving to be a series perfect for mystery fans and book club readers.'

The Lancashire Post

'The second book in the DI Matt Lockyer series more than lives up to expectations with clever plotting and characters who stay with you ... The Wiltshire countryside comes off the page so well that I couldn't believe that I wasn't there ... Highly recommended.'

The Book Bag blog

'Like their previous case, the investigation revolves around a cast of characters who seem to jump off the page ... vividly set against the tail-end of the Covid pandemic during the hottest summer on record; I sweated along with Matt and Gemma as I read in in mid-December! I look forward to seeing how it works out for these two likeable characters.'

Promoting Crime Fiction blog

'Laying Out the Bones is absolutely brilliant. It works on so many levels. Intelligent crime at its best. I can't wait for the next one.'

Dinah Jefferies, Sunday Times bestselling author

'Completely, grippingly superb. It has it all - simmering atmosphere, Webb's trademark amazing writing, layered characters, unguessable plot... I loved it.'

Jenny Ashcroft, Sunday Times Bestselling author.

‘A stunning new voice in crime fiction: glorious writing, fantastic atmosphere and such clever plotting. Kate Webb is your next must-read. More please!’

Lucy Foley, Sunday Times Bestselling author of 'The Hunting Party'

'Webb's DI Lockyer Mysteries are everything I could ever hope for in a crime series: beautifully written, compassionate, transporting and intricately plotted. I'm a huge fan, and can't wait for the next.'

Emylia Hall, author of The Shell House Detective Mysteries

Cookies

This site uses cookies to store temporary imformation whilst you are using the site - this makes the site quicker to use.
These cookies contain no personal information and the data that they do contain are not shared with anyone, or used outside of this site.

Find out more

Close